Recent Articles by OT Mom /learning-activities-blog.html Keep up to date with all new pages and changes to the OT Mom Learning Activities website. en-us learning activities Fri, 22 Nov 2019 03:03:27 -0500 Fri, 22 Nov 2019 03:03:27 -0500 ot-mom-learning-activities.com Christmas Cutting Skills Printables /cutting-skills-printables-for-Christmas.htmlc8e6edae9f4c35788603b890dc200cacLovely nativity themed cutting skills printables that are suitable for preschool, kindergarten and first grade kids. Fri, 22 Nov 2019 03:03:22 -0500 Letter Formation Tips and Strategies /letter-formation-tips.html6a98dd3d3eba0d32d3e677883d80a2cdIs your child struggling to form letters correctly? These letter formation tips and strategies may help! Wed, 21 Aug 2019 18:35:57 -0400 Gross Motor Exercises For The Classroom /gross-motor-exercises.htmlac5c9d242af829b2229c7483b110ad97Simple gross motor exercises for teachers to use in the classroom. Incorporate vestibular stimulation and bilateral coordination skills to help your kids learn! Wed, 31 Jul 2019 09:59:37 -0400 Core Strength and Core Stability for Kids /core-strength.html199c5af95fc201eacf0aa5ef95d54932Find out why core stability and core strength are important for kids - and how to help your child. Wed, 19 Jun 2019 06:18:58 -0400 Occupational Therapy VS "Therapy Activities" At Home /occupational-therapy.html3e39a5fe9c73cc8c0bbe22cc40aeefe3An OT Month article - weighing up occupational therapy versus doing "therapy activities" at home. Mon, 15 Apr 2019 08:42:19 -0400 Fine Motor Development: The Essential Bases /fine-motor-development-essential-bases.htmlf107275ce1757dee5fa555ceff803f85The 4 Essential Bases for fine motor development that every parent and teacher should know! Mon, 11 Mar 2019 05:52:48 -0400 Isolating Finger Movements /finger-movements.htmlb81c427a181a12c9c8710f60655646e0These activities will help your child to isolate finger movements - a key step to mastering many fine motor activities, as well as playing musical instruments and typing on a keyboard. Sun, 25 Nov 2018 13:44:06 -0500 Christmas gift ideas for kids! /christmas-gift-ideas-for-kids.htmlaf2efdb7b52de510407c63575367818bThese christmas gift ideas for kids will help you find toys and games to build your child's skills! Fri, 16 Nov 2018 06:26:09 -0500 Fine Motor Christmas Activities /fine-motor-christmas-activities.html8dff1b50ba33e3b298366c6617f343e3Work on hand and finger skills with this range of fine motor Christmas activities Wed, 14 Nov 2018 03:13:32 -0500 Put Together A Sensory Box /sensory-box.html26ff35c3875162199427a140cfaca2c2A sensory box can be very helpful for a child who has sensory processing disorder. Here are some tips on how to put one together! Mon, 1 Oct 2018 14:31:56 -0400 Little Pencil Finds His Forever Friends - Book Review /little-pencil-finds-his-forever-friends-review.htmlec9c6d261802e655e9e79c72b0c94d5bLittle Pencil Finds His Forever Friends is a lovely book to help kids understand how their pencil grip works - awesome resource for preschools and therapists! Mon, 17 Sep 2018 06:51:35 -0400 Fine Motor Skills Activities for Older Kids /fine-motor-skills-activities-for-older-kids.html4fd8ac1a3eb9b1253c603ffc848ef02dTips and ideas to work on fine motor skills activities with older kids. Mon, 4 Jun 2018 16:52:45 -0400 Bilateral Integration Activities For Kids /bilateral-integration.htmlf4ed0588073c82c6e2bf0b44ea1ca09fUse these simple bilateral integration activities to boost your child's coordination skills! Wed, 11 Apr 2018 15:40:26 -0400 Tactile Perception Activities /tactile-perception-activities.htmlabcee8f2ccbd9daf3af10b400443cf9dFun tactile perception activities to help develop touch perception skills. Thu, 8 Mar 2018 14:00:17 -0500 Tactile Perception and Fine Motor Skills /tactile-perception.html2852b4f658f7383d9e02abfd2d94a0d5What is tactile perception, and how does it affect fine motor development? Mon, 19 Feb 2018 02:44:20 -0500 Why Is Wrist Extension Important for Kids? /wrist-extension.html12b0b075bc5dc92220cae163b8bf7e74 Find out more about the role wrist extension plays in good handwriting. Fri, 12 Jan 2018 01:49:00 -0500 Easy Christmas Angel Crafts /christmas-angel-crafts.htmle70718cbdb56ecdef3ee18b454f5a7d0Use pipe cleaners and beads to make these simple Christmas angel crafts for kids! Thu, 23 Nov 2017 18:47:43 -0500 Christmas Activities For Kids /christmas-activities-for-kids.html0c326a81666f0c3a05b1309e96c990a7Work on a variety of skills with these fun Christmas activities for kids! Mon, 20 Nov 2017 13:57:58 -0500 Christmas Paper Crafts For Kids /christmas-paper-crafts-for-kids.htmlad6b95177cc40871d999140dc91f06c6These christmas paper crafts for kids can help them work on fine motor and eye-hand coordination skills. Mon, 20 Nov 2017 13:39:30 -0500 Using Modarri Cars To Improve Skills /modarri-cars.html49171dd8f1f10c12fbb5b9a2f3706436Great ideas for using Modarri Cars to improve your child's skills! Mon, 2 Oct 2017 17:20:04 -0400 Pencil Grasp - An Overview /pencil-grasp.htmlb48f78d0ea911031053a25460b9ec817An overview of what you need to know about your child's pencil grasp. Wed, 31 May 2017 05:08:11 -0400 Letter Formation Activities for Kids With Poor Fine Motor Skills /letter-formation-activities.html5271854713177bd0e40315823fdfc040Your child can master number and letter formations with these letter formation activities, even if fine motor skills are poor! Tue, 9 May 2017 13:51:29 -0400 Is It OK For My Child To Be Ambidextrous? /ambidextrous.htmlcbc7f1d0cf3869c1b92838f8c5cb2b76This article explores some of the implications for kids who are "ambidextrous". Sun, 12 Mar 2017 16:00:13 -0400 Preschool Handwriting Preparation /preschool-handwriting.html8e0321bc8f1b29330a59d847650f1b44Any preschool handwriting preparation program should include lots of visual motor and pre-writing activities. Read on for some helpful tips and ideas! Thu, 6 Oct 2016 19:01:37 -0400 Fine Motor ABC Book Review /fine-motor-abc-review.htmld9efb5177326ecc42a1a496c6a7373cfFine Motor ABC is a unique book that can appeal to children and caregivers alike! Thu, 6 Oct 2016 18:53:06 -0400 Benefits Of Baking With Kids /baking-with-kids.html1ac66172d9bc00fe580b9422f1a225c1Baking with kids can have lots of benefits - it can help with math, planning and coordination skills! Thu, 29 Sep 2016 17:12:03 -0400 Preschool Visual Motor Worksheets /preschool-visual-motor-worksheets.htmlab6f63ebec67ad069e3d0ae38b88ae7eUse these preschool visual motor worksheets to supplement your daily activity schedule. Mon, 29 Aug 2016 19:02:58 -0400 Learning Activities /learning-activities.htmlc9cb173aebe55ee02bc38f5eeedd13d3Why do some kids need extra learning activities? Thu, 21 Jul 2016 04:53:49 -0400 Preschool Learning Activities /preschool-learning-activities.html7e21c24813fd23ee9cc2098b514ff864Give your child a good foundation for reading and writing with these simple preschool learning activities! Tue, 19 Jul 2016 08:11:00 -0400 Max and Me - Review of A Sensory Processing Book for Kids /max-and-me-sensory-processing.html0049ce6e776d7518365bb785170c204a"Max and Me" - a wonderful sensory processing story for kids. Sat, 9 Jan 2016 09:31:36 -0500 Fun With Playdough Activities /playdough-activities.htmle3b9814143e6acfc2cb79ccbe56a4cf9Have fun with playdough activities that can build your child's fine motor and coordination skills! Mon, 10 Aug 2015 17:33:20 -0400 What Is Visual Motor Integration? /visual-motor-integration.html8bb770c3a79465d1574279ac9a6e42d2Parent-friendly information on visual motor integration and helpful activity links to develop this important pre-skill for handwriting. Sat, 8 Aug 2015 06:33:14 -0400 Handwriting For Kids /handwriting-for-kids.htmlee3d271d50039b8423c9452b964a2dbcAn overview of the skills that influence handwriting for kids. Fri, 12 Jun 2015 18:20:16 -0400 Visual Motor Activities For Toddlers and Preschoolers /visual-motor-activities.html06649d328d816e65e056d4d36f3c3112Toddler and preschool visual motor activities to help develop eye-hand coordination. Tue, 9 Jun 2015 18:16:54 -0400 How To Use Scissors /how-to-use-scissors.html09de59d140199f5311720728d3426ae1Teach your child how to use scissors...step by step! Sun, 7 Jun 2015 18:26:13 -0400 Hand Exercises For Kids - Strengthen Weak Hands! /hand-exercises-for-kids.htmlf65d31c24da49aa20989245ade9f35bbThese simple hand exercises can help make your child's hands stronger and improve fine motor skills. Fri, 24 Apr 2015 17:42:13 -0400 Understanding Visual Processing Disorder /visual-processing-disorder.html6576cca400bbeb84a0dc72478f3790cbFind out more about what a visual processing disorder is and how it can affect your child. Sat, 11 Apr 2015 05:32:30 -0400 Who is OT Mom? Meet Tracey! /about-me.html8eb037e48995538225d819519333776dWho is OT Mom? Find out more about Tracey, the occupational therapist and homeschooling mom behind this website! Fri, 20 Mar 2015 04:23:15 -0400 Give 5 Year Old More Time? /give-5-year-old-more-time.html1d06f5ace2e7f0e6534093607e47a189My five year old son is not in Kindergarten yet but is struggling with fine motor skills. He hates writing and even when I try to get him to trace things Mon, 9 Feb 2015 05:20:57 -0500 Why is my drawing and writing so horrible? /why-is-my-drawing-and-writing-so-horrible.html1043bf07c15371226394af30261c2714Hi. I'm sixteen years old and I have ADHD, all my life I have noticed that my writing has always not been the best. Spelling has always been fine, but Thu, 29 Jan 2015 05:44:33 -0500 Occupational Therapy Books /occupational-therapy-books.htmld962c1646422b1676818378d826f2410OT Mom reviews occupational therapy books that are suitable for parents, teachers and/or therapists. Sat, 6 Dec 2014 19:19:57 -0500 Christian Christmas Crafts for Kids /christian-christmas-crafts-for-kids.html5caafb027f1da2511874e9a8488f8a60A round-up of Christian Christmas crafts for kids, including OT Mom's own! Mon, 17 Nov 2014 07:33:37 -0500 Kaleidograph Toy Review /kaleidograph-review.htmlc86f1571509421f419485ea89c7ccbb8A review of Kaleidograph - a great visual perception and motor planning resource for older kids! Mon, 17 Nov 2014 05:14:48 -0500 FAQ: OT Mom E-books /ot-mom-e-books-FAQ.html90a13a1f2a6cb5a990f603bbf91e588eGot questions about the OT Mom E-books? Check this page to find some answers! Mon, 12 May 2014 20:13:33 -0400 How To Tie Shoelaces /how-to-tie-shoelaces.html0159734ae15190019be8892abb3c4728Is your child struggling to learn how to tie shoelaces? An OT perspective on this skill. Mon, 12 May 2014 19:08:06 -0400 Dealing With Picky Eaters /dealing-with-picky-eaters.html77a4092b022ffce271af22e9f6ea1059Tips to help parents dealing with picky eaters, from an occupational therapy perspective. Mon, 12 May 2014 19:07:20 -0400 Pencil Grips for Kids /pencil-grips-for-kids.html249182f42313c7b81e541ad25d5d4e96Reviews of pencil grips for kids that may help improve their pencil grasp. Wed, 22 Jan 2014 15:55:42 -0500 OT Mom Activity Updates /ot-mom-activity-updates.htmlc0904237116fad24a30601b02985a0d2Sign up here for OT Mom Activity Updates - a free newsletter published by OT Mom Learning Activities! Mon, 11 Nov 2013 17:38:01 -0500